I Moved Back To The North…

newcastle-upon-tyneIt’s been while since my last post and since then a lot has changed. I moved out of London and back home to the North East, and was even lucky enough to find a great new job in the music industry. It’s been a huge adjustment, having been in London for the past 7 years.

Here’s a short list of the pros and cons so far (I imagine they are all too familiar to anyone who decided to give life outside the big smoke a go).

Pros:

· You get change from a tenner when you go to the bar.

SubstandardFullSizeRender (1)

Lovely clean air!

· The air is fresh, I’m close to the sea and I actually feel healthier.

· I can drive now (yey- real grown up!) and don’t have to rely on the tube. However if you ever refer to Newcastle’s Metro system as “The Tube” by accident there’s a very real chance someone will push you under a train. Geordies are fiercely proud that they are NOT in/near London. Driving around on my own also means I can sing Beyoncé as loudly and badly as I like and no-one can hear.

· My job-I really love it, and the perks include visiting London at least once a month. I can usually extend my visits to see my friends and cuddle my cat (more on that later).

11393249_10153479094350962_1932064823649155377_n

My wildling friends beyond The Wall

· There is actually a chance of me buying a flat in the next 2 years which means I can be a home owner before 30… Something all Londoners will know is a ludicrous notion in the capital.

· I see my family more. I can drive for a maximum of 25 mins to see most of the members of my family. It’s one of the best things about being back. They rock.

cushions

I actually made these!

· The view from the end of my street is really beautiful. Nature is everywhere, I feel like Julie Andrews every time I walk to the corner shop!

· My Mam (Northern for Mum) makes my meals and washes my clothes and it’s heaven. (I moved back in to save some money for the aforementioned flat).

· Friends. My oldest friends are up here, and it’s absolutely amazing to be able to see them whenever I like.

· I’ve learned how to do something practical! I’ve got more spare time and as a result have figured out how to use a sewing machine. In need of various household textiles? I’m your woman!

Cons:

· I’m less fit. In London I walked and cycled most places and have really noticed the difference since moving home. Now I have to make an effort to be fit, ergh.

· It’s cold. As a skinny girl I feel the cold anyway, but the constant chill is very annoying. It’s contributed to the lack of fitness (or at least it’s one more excuse- who wants to run in the dark park in snow? No).

· Driving. Although there are huge benefits to diving, my car is  completley terrible. Thinking about where to park is a new thing to me, and as a result have incurred about 4 parking fines this year…

SubstandardFullSizeRender (2)

He hates me…

· There’s less going on. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing as it’s meant I have been forced to slow down. There’s still a ton of stuff to do here,  but London is nuts and has made me lazy. For example I’ve been invited to a guided meditation rave this weekend in Brixton (honestly)…only in London!

· I miss other hippies. I miss going to the Buddhist centre on a Saturday for some hungover meditation, spending about 4 hours a week in Whole Foods and vintage clothes shopping on Brick Lane.

· I miss my cat! My parents cat despises me, no matter how much enthusiasm I show…

veggie

Nice…

· Living at home. I’m used to my own space. I’m living rent free so really can’t complain  but I don’t think I’ll ever EVER get used to a single bed…

· Vegetarian food is very hit and miss. The North is a region of meat lovers. The home of Cumberland sausages, hot-pots and steak bakes…Sadly there’s often very little choice for those who don’t want meat, and when there is it often lacks imagination.

What’s next?

I’m on a bit of a mission to find out where to find good veggie food in The Toon. I’ve been really surprised and really disappointed in equal measure so far. Watch this space for more…

Leave a Reply

