Adventurous chickeny-mushroomy-halloumi-y tea!

After a very boozy wedding reception and an exceptionally late night on Saturday, I (predictably) spend most of Sunday on the sofa, watching Jamie Oliver cook delicious food I was too hungover and lazy to make. Even though he claimed it only took 15 minutes.

I was craving this particular recipe all through my pain on Sunday and all day at work yesterday, so I decided to make it last night! It really is about time I attempted a Jamie dish, as every single thing in my kitchen comes from Jme by Jamie Oliver range, thanks to my flatmate’s Mum, who owns the company. THANKS AGAIN KIM for kiting us out so well! She’s a ledge.

food bowl and sauce

First thing you should know. It did not take 15 mins. It might have, if I owned a food processor and everything was clean, or  I was a professional chef who STILL after 12 months of living in the flat, didn’t  get confused by the hob dials. Alas, this was not the case. It was quite quick though about 35 mins I’d say- and it looked pretty impressive in the end.

So what did I make? (I changed it a bit because I couldn’t  find oyster mushrooms and I really dislike polenta)

Crispy chicken with grilled halloumi (instead of polenta), asparagus, portobello mushrooms with fresh tomato sauce!

Equipment: You need 2 normal pans, 1 griddle and a blender/blendy stick.

action snap

action snap

PREP: The sauce! It’s so good you could easily make it as a simple pasta sauce/dip etc.

  • Some dried porcini mushrooms covered with boiling water-left for 1min
  • ½ red chilli with seeds
  • About 6 vine tomatoes
  • 2 cloves of crushed garlic
  • Handful of fresh basil
  • Some pepper
  1. Put it all in a blender/jug- and blend. Then transfer to pan on medium heat so it can cook through (it totally changes the taste). You can leave it bubbling for the rest of the cooking.
  2. Cover you chicken breasts in fennel seeds, rosemary and a good bit of parmesan. If the breasts are a bit big (whey!) then you can flatten them a bit with a rollingpin they’ll cook faster. Put them in a pan to fry along with the chopped up portobello mushrooms (I used 2).
  3. Chop up the halloumi into about 1cm pieces, put a bit of oil on them and put in the griddle pan, along with the asparagus. I put the asparagus on top of the halloumi. Good combo of grill and steam.
  4. Turn the halloumi and adjust heat if it’s a bit too charred.
  5. Chuck in some smoked streaky bacon pieces, with the chicken and the haloumi
  6. Once chicken is cooked serve it all! I put the sauce in a big serving bowl first and then layered up!
the end result

the end result

TA DA! Well nice saucy, mushroomy, cheesy goodness !!

Was it nice?

I made this for my flatmate Amy. Her testimonial:  fit!

I thought it was good. Fennel is an unusual taste if you’re not used to it, so I think I’d use less seeds next time.

3 thoughts on “Adventurous chickeny-mushroomy-halloumi-y tea!

Leave a Reply

